New Topic  Reply to Topic  Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 9

sbauer
Full Member (100+ posts)

139 Posts
Gratitude: 22

Posted - 07/17/2008 :  18:20:19  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Reply to Topic
Hi - can anyone tell me the usual dosage of seroquel, as an adjunct to lithium? I was diagnosed as bipolar two years ago, and have been on lithium since, with good results...until I got a wee bit manic a few weeks ago and got put into place by being told that I was just getting disorganized enought that I was risking admission. Now, the embarassing part is that I am a physician, but in a field as far from psych as possible which is lucky, as nobody would notice or care if I was swinging from a chandelier). The deal was that my lithium got almost doubled, and seroquel added on as well. The seroquel is a bit of a strange drug, but I got put on a very low dosage for now, and as I seem to be behaving myself and settling down I'm not sure if it will change. I know that when used as an adjunct with lithium that the dosage is lower...but how low? Thanks.
Go to Top of Page

lynn2150
Super Incredible Member (10000+ posts)

21329 Posts
Gratitude: 2146
Very caringVery wiseVery funnyVery honestI agree

Posted - 07/17/2008 :  18:57:40  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Reply to Topic
Hi, and welcome !
I wish I had an answer,
I was put on 100 mg of seroquel, along with the usual 900 mg of Lith, and had my paxil reduced to 20 mg from 40 mg.
I cannot handle the seroquel, I asked to have it lowered to 25 mg. I still hate it.
If I may ask, what doses of lith and seroquel are you on?
Are you on any anti depressants?
Glad to have you aboard, !
Lynn
Go to Top of Page

Zep
Incredible Member (2000+ posts)

2298 Posts
Gratitude: 536
Very caringVery wiseVery honest

Posted - 07/17/2008 :  21:10:04  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Reply to Topic
Hi Sbauer. I don't know that there is a "usual" dose - I think it varies from person to person.