Page: of 2

jodartha
Incredible Member (2000+ posts)

4755 Posts
Gratitude: 1075
Very caringVery wiseVery honestI agree

Posted - 08/22/2010 :  12:29:31  Show Profile  Reply with Quote  Reply to Topic
Hi Everyone.

This is my first post and basically an introduction. I don't have experience on forums or blogging, and tend to be pretty much a private person. Over the past couple of years, I have realized much to my dismay that no matter how much I deny it, overcome it temporarily, or live it daily, that I experience debilitating depression.

In the past year, I have experienced things that I would wish on no one...but before I begin, I just want to give a little of my background. I am looking for one or two people that I can really relate too because unfortunately I am a giver that finds it much easier to help others than work on this debilitating disorder that has almost taken over my life.

I am fairly well educated, I got my Masters in Business and Nursing several years ago. Living in academics is a wonderful hiding place for me. I still am working full time, and I hide my condition from others fairly well. i would say that with the exceptions of a few friends that I don't let anyone know how much pain I am in. That one primary exception in the past year has been a teenager who I grew close too, he listens well, and up too a point we were good for each other. He is fairly sociopathic though (yes, diagnosed), and I am getting drained by him more than he is giving at this time.

If I had to say what is wrong with me...and I would only say that here...
1. I have a growing depression, that appears resistant to therapy. I have felt and acted quite suicidal several times in the past two years. I just stop living except for work.